Not Me – 2011 12s

March 20, 2011 at 9:00 am Leave a comment

Not Me - "ntm 2011"

Not Me - "ntm 2011"

Those of you who follow the CSAF recording company and the nebulous electronica entity known only as Not Me will probably know about the 2011 12s series. Doubtless many of you have already downloaded the first volume, which features a rather staggering remix from Loscil – that’s right, LOSCIL!

For those of you pitiful souls who aren’t in the know, here’s the deal. 2011 12s is a series of five “virtual 12-inch singles” by Not Me, mixing elements of minimal techno, dubstep and glitch. The series is scheduled to feature remixes by some of your favourite experimental electronica artists, including Fieldhead, Vincent Parker and the aforementioned Loscil.

CSAF and Not Me are putting out an open call to all of y’all. Artists who would like to get involved in the project are encouraged to submit their own mixes of the tracks as 320kbps MP3s. The label’s large and staggeringly bureaucratic A&R department can’t promise to use everything received but they’d love to hear what you come up with.

To get started, you can:

Download all the original sample loops used to make the 2011 12s tracks

Download an album’s-worth of Examples

Download an album’s-worth of Instrumental Demos

Volume one was released in late February and volume two is scheduled for release in early May. Here are the full details of the first volume.

Vol. 1: ntm 2011 (CSAF129DL)

Featuring a new remix by Kranky recording artist Loscil plus mixes by The Luminaries and connect_icut.

Things start off deep and ambient, with a truly stunning mix from Loscil – aka sometime Destroyer drummer Scott Morgan. CSAF is sincerely honoured to have an artist of Scott’s calibre contributing to this project.

The connect_icut mix brings in a sub-aquatic bass drum thump that will be instantly pleasing to fans of the Chain Reaction label. Finally, the Luminaries mix strips everything way down for a skeletal and downright funky 14-minute workout.

Full track-listing below, with embedded players for previewing the individual tracks. Click on the download link to get the whole darn thing as a single .zip file.

Side A

1. Loscil Remix (6:35)

2. connect_icut Three Pad Mix (7:10)

Side B

1. The Luminaries Somnolent Dancefloor Dub (13.56)

DOWNLOAD 2011 12s VOL. 1

Entry filed under: CSAF, electronica. Tags: , .

Dream Rock & Noise Pop in Videos: My Bloody Valentine – “Loomer” Dream Rock & Noise Pop in Videos: Slowdive – “Catch the Breeze”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

RSS An incomplete account of vinyl listening

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

An incomplete account of digital listening

My Old Blog


%d bloggers like this: