The Re-Ups: The Acid Folk Vols. 1-4

November 29, 2010 at 9:00 am 6 comments

A very early Christmas present to you all – or a slightly early Hanukkah present, if you prefer. In any case, this is great music to wrap gifts by.

As with the Rap in the 90s compilations, this should go without saying but – in case it’s not abundantly clear – these compilations are intended as samplers, designed to generate interest in and real-world sales for the artists featured. So, if you hear any stuff you particularly like on these comps (and you will), please do the right thing – support the artists by purchasing their work, preferably on vinyl.

About five years ago, there was a significant revival of interest in classic UK folk-rock from the late 60s/early 70s. Consequently, a lot of albums by artists featured on these compilations got re-issued in swanky vinyl and CD editions. Again, the point is that there’s no excuse – so start downloading, have a listen and then head down to your local record emporium and get shopping.

The Acid Folk Vol. 1

The Acid Folk Vol. 1
1. The Watersons – “Hal-An-Tow”
2. Anne Briggs – “Tangled Man”
3. The Pentangle – “Light Flight”
4. Bert Jansch – “Needle of Death”
5. Magnet – “Gently Johnny”
6. Forest – “Graveyard”
7. Shirley Collins – “The Cruel Mother”
8. Shirley Collins & The Albion Country Band – “The Murder of Maria Marten”
9. Fairport Convention – “Tam Lin”
10. Trees – “Sally Free and Easy”
11. Comus – “Herald”
Click here to download The Acid Folk Vol. 1

The Acid Folk Vol. 2

The Acid Folk Vol. 2
1. The Watersons – “Christmas is Now Drawing Near”
2. Trees – “While the Iron is Hot”
3. Fairport Convention – “Autopsy”
4. Sandy Denny – “Milk and Honey”
5. Anne Briggs – “Sandman’s Song”
6. Vashti Bunyan – “Window Over the Bay”
7. Shirley Collins & Davy Graham – “Hares on the Mountain”
8. The Pentangle – “Let No Man Steal Your Thyme”
9. Bert Jansch – “Black Water Side”
10. Forest – “Do Not Walk in the Rain”
11. The Incredible String Band – “A Very Cellular Song”
12. Roy Harper – “Me and My Woman”
Click here to download The Acid Folk Vol. 2

The Acid Folk Vol. 3

The Acid Folk Vol. 3
1. John Renbourn – “Down on the Barge”
2. Shirley Collins – “Adieu to Old England”
3. Vashti Bunyan – “Where I Like to Stand”
4. Davy Graham – “Anji”
5. Bill Fay – “Warwick Town”
6. Bert Jansch – “I Have No Time”
7. The Watersons – “The Whitby Lad”
8. Fairport Convention – “Tale in Hard Time”
9. Fresh Maggots – “Rosemary Hill”
10. Anne Briggs – “Living by the Water”
11. Sandy Denny – “Late November”
12. Martin Carthy – “Lord Randall”
13. Steeleye Span – “Rogues in a Nation”
14. Trader Horne – “Morning Way”
15. Kevin Coyne – “Evil Island Home”
16. Trees – “Fool”
17. The Pentangle – “Cruel Sister”
Click here to download The Acid Folk Vol. 3

The Acid Folk Vol. 4

The Acid Folk Vol. 4
1. Bridget St. John – “Song for the Laird of Connaugh”
2. Shelagh McDonald – “Ophelia’s Song”
3. Mellow Candle – “Break Your Token”
4. Maddy Prior & Tim Hart – “Who’s the Fool Now?”
5. Steeleye Span – “Blacksmith”
6. Lal & Mike Waterson – “Red Wine and Promises”
7. Shirley Collins – “Ca’ the Yowes”
8. Davy Graham – “Black is the Colour of My True Love’s Hair”
9. Fairport Convention – “Doctor of Physick”
10. Spirogyra – “Old Boot Wine”
11. Clive Palmer – “Girl from the North Country”
12. Bert Jansch – “It Don’t Bother Me”
13. The Pentangle – “Bruton Town”
14. Synanthesia – “The Tale of the Spider and the Fly”
15. Mark Fry – “The Witch”
16. Comus – “Drip Drip”
Click here to download
The Acid Folk Vol. 4


Sandy Denny

Shirley Collins

Mellow Candle

Shelagh McDonald

Bridget St. John

Anne Briggs

Vashti Bunyan

Judy Dyble of Fairport Convention and Trader Horne

Judy Dyble of Fairport Convention and Trader Horne

Maddy Prior

Barbara Gaskin of Spirogyra

Barbara Gaskin of Spirogyra

(Yes, that Barbara Gaskin)

Lal Waterson

Lal Waterson

1. Comus –  “Bitten (Not Me Remix by Esperik Glare)”
2. Not Me – “APC Meets Fairport Convention Upcountry”
3. Historian Trinkets – “She Walked Through the Fair Gathering Mushrooms”
4. Nick Krgovich & Rose Melberg – “Coldest Night of the Year (Version Two)”
5. Johnny Payne – “Meet on the Ledge”
6. Skullfucker – “The Witch”
7. Secret Pyramid – “Milk and Honey”
8. Shirley Collins – “Adieu to Old England (Not Me Remix by connect_icut)”
9. The Watersons – “Hal-an-Tow (Gunshae’s Winter of Discontent Remix)”
10. Wonk – “Cellular (Lord Summerisle is My Co-Pilot Mix)”
11. Skullfucker vs. connect_icut – “Evil Island Home”
12. The Pentangle – “Lyke-Wake Dirge (Not Me Remix by Esperik Glare)”
Click here to download: The Acid Folk Remix Project Vol. 2

Entry filed under: Acid Folk Remix Project, folk, mix CDs, MP3s, re-ups. Tags: , , , , .

Loop – Arc Lite Albums of the Year 2010

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dad  |  November 30, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    I was driving past a broken down theatre in Broadstairs, north Kent coast, yesterday. Maddy Prior’s name was all over it. Solo concert this Friday.

  • 2. crys  |  December 11, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    hah… love your gallery of the lovely ladies of acid folk… babes galore! 🙂

    was looking at one of the Peel sessions records last night and couldn’t get over how many odd balls had done peel sessions. noticed the lovely british folkies who did, like maddy prior & bridget st-john… would be great to hear that stuff…

  • 3. Biggie Samuels  |  December 12, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    I believe I’m right in saying that both Bridget St. John and Forest were Peel proteges. I think all of St. John’s release came out on his Dandelion label and he actually let Forest live in his front room for quite some time.

  • 4. Evan  |  December 15, 2010 at 2:18 am

    I listened to “A Very Cellular Song” by TISB the other day. something so amazing about that track. it seems pretty simple but it made me feel all warm inside.

    • 5. Biggie Samuels  |  December 17, 2010 at 4:04 pm

      Have you heard this?

      [audio src="" /]

      • 6. standard_grey  |  December 25, 2010 at 12:56 pm

        That remix might make you feel the opposite ;P

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

RSS An incomplete account of vinyl listening

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

An incomplete account of digital listening

My Old Blog


%d bloggers like this: