Mix CD: Dream Rock & Noise Pop 1985-93 (Vol. 1)

May 1, 2010 at 9:00 am 19 comments

Dream Rock & Noise Pop 1985-93 (Vol. 1)

Dream Rock & Noise Pop 1985-93 (Vol. 1)

The usual disclaimers apply – this is a personal selection of favourite songs, which – broadly speaking – share an aesthetic and a historical legacy. It is not an attempt to provide a comprehensive overview of any particular scene or era.

It’s also worth noting that certain bands (Papa Sprain, Flying Saucer Attack, Bowery Electric…) were excluded because they might be better placed on one of this here blog’s famous post-rock compilations.

Here’s the track-listing. Click on the individual songs to listen or click here to download the first half and here to download the second. These are Mediafire links and they will expire but you can feel free to report broken links. We’ll see what we can do.

Edit, December 28th 2010: After a recent surge of interest in this compilation (one might almost be tempted to use the word “viral”) this here blog has decided to replace the old links with permanent, non-expiring alternatives. Click here to download the first half and click here to download the second half. Goodness knows quite why this particular comp has become so popular. In retrospect, the second half is a bit patchy and the post-rock mixes should be far more interesting or at least far less obvious.

1. The Jesus and Mary Chain – “You Trip Me Up”

2. Cocteau Twins – “Aikea-Guinea”

3. My Bloody Valentine – “Slow”

4. A.R. Kane – “Baby Milk Snatcher”

5. Loop – “Arc-Lite”

6. Spacemen 3 – “Revolution”

7. The House of Love – “Destroy the Heart”

8. Ride – “Chelsea Girl”

9. My Bloody Valentine – “Loomer”

10. Slowdive – “Catch the Breeze”

11. Pale Saints – “Throwing Back the Apple”

12. Lush – “For Love”

13. Medicine – “A Short Happy Life”

14. Black Tambourine – “Throw Aggi Off the Bridge”

15. Swirlies – “Pancake”

16. Secret Shine – “Temporal”

17. The Boo Radleys – “Upon 9th and Fairchild”

18. Lovesliescrushing – “youreyesimmaculate”

Entry filed under: avant rock, mix CDs, MP3s. Tags: , , .

connect_icut Shows – A Reminder Fennesz – Szampler (The Tape Worm) Cassette

19 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

RSS An incomplete account of vinyl listening

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

An incomplete account of digital listening

My Old Blog


%d bloggers like this: